A team from the Del Lago Men’s Club Club (“DLMGC”) won the Pima Cup at Dell Urich Golf Course where they defeated the team from Arizona National by a score of 29-25.  It culminated six months of golfing competition among the nine courses participating which began back in November.


Del Lago’s Match Play Finals team consisted of John Blumenshine and his partner Trey Koger in the A division; John Bell and Cody Almand in the B division and Steve Robinson and Brad Singer in the C division. Each of the two-man teams competed against representatives from Arizona National with similar handicaps, which denoted the divisions. Blumenshine and Koger easily took their match by a final score of 12-8 while both of the other teams lost close matches that came down to the final hole for each.  The scores were 9.5-8.5 for both B and C.  The combined totals were counted resulting in the victory.


“While the six members who played today were victorious there were several other members of the club that got us to the Finals with their play during the round robin tournament season,” commented Bob Snodgrass, DLMGC President. “Two of them are recuperating from surgery and another has a back injury, which is being treated. We’re proud of all our members who played this season against some stiff competition.”  Stuart Katz, past President of the DLMGC, noted that of the 12 matches during the season, the club lost only one head to head competition while winning 10 and tying the other.


Other members of the club that played in the qualifying events enabling the team to compete for the championship included: Katz, Chas Giufurta, Leroy Baca, Mike Canfield, Jeff McCall, Hugo Keyner, Snodgrass, Tony Roether, Mike Cline, and Howard Gourley.


The Finals were played at the city of Tucson course which Blumenshine said that it was in the best shape he’s ever seen it in and he first played the course back in the 1960’s with his grandparents. This was the second year that DLMGC has competed in the Pima Cup.  They have won the Southern Division, comprised of Del Lago, San Ignacio, Starr Pass, Quail Creek and Sewailo, both times.  Last year they finished second to El Conquistador.

By Stuart Katz

About author View all posts

Guest Author