On March 26 and 27, the Del Lago Men’s Golf Club (DLMGC) held their annual Championships at the Del Lago Golf Course. The competition had three divisions based on handicaps, and when the final putts were holed out, Jeff McCall, Tim Tyler, and Rick Schnurr were victorious in their divisions. McCall was the overall Club Champion having carded a 151 over the two days to win the Championship Division by 10 strokes.

Tyler was the winner in the A flight with a 169 total, winning by 3 strokes and Schnurr was the champ of the B Flight with a 182, and a 5 stroke victory. The net division leaders were Trey Koger, with a 145 in the Championship flight; Bill Camp, with a 150 in the A flight, and Bob Snodgrass, who ended with a 151 to take the B flight net honors.

DLMGC Winners (L-R) Tim Tyler, Jeff McCall, Rick Schnurr

The Pima Cup, a competition between 10 of the Men’s Clubs in the Tucson area, held the final round on Monday, April 4, to crown the champion. The Del Lago Men’s Club, winners of the Southern Division finished second overall in the championship played at Oro Valley Country Club. Representing the DLMGC in the finals were John Blumenshine, Leroy Baca, Ron Agtual, Chas Giufurta, Rick Schnurr, and Chad Jorgenson.

DLMGC had held a 2.5-point advantage over El Conquistador, who won the 2022 Pima Cup, entering the competition having amassed 118.5 points over the five months of competition in the Southern Division. The other clubs in the South were San Ignacio, Starr Pass, Quail Creek and Sewailo. The Northern group included Arizona National, 49er Country Club, Heritage Highlands and Arthur Pack.

In the finals Del Lago garnered 28.5 points against Arthur Pack while El Conquistador managed 35 points versus Sewailo.

DLMGC usually plays weekly on Sundays at Del Lago but tries to play other courses every four or five weeks at courses like Arizona National. San Ignacio, Sewailo, Pueblo Del Sol and Dove Mountain. For more information you can visit the website: www.dlmgc.org

About author View all posts

Guest Author