In July 2014, a special meeting of the Vail Community Action Board was held. The result was a vote to turn the future of the non-profit corporation over to five members who had served as its incorporators.

The five members designated by then VCAB President David Hook were Anne Gibson, Joe Heller, Richard Katz, Debbie Peck, and Rebecca Schulte. Mr. Katz selected not to participate.

After several meetings, the four agreed there was no desire by any, some or all of the four to attempt to revitalize the organization and that the corporation should be dissolved with the remaining funds divided according to the VCAB By-Laws between selected non-profit corporations serving the greater Vail area. Each benefitting organization was required to show proof of its non-profit status and had someone directly connected in service as a member to the VCAB.

This November, six local non-profit organization each received checks for $2,978.31 closing out the corporation.

Benefactors were the Andrada High School Scholarship Fund, Impact of Southern Arizona’s Vail Backpack Program, Vail Education Foundation, Vail Preservation Society, the Vail School District’s Vail Pride Day, and the YMCA Building Fund for the new Rita Road YMCA.

About author View all posts

Anne Gibson